2020 Annual Conference

The SAAA 2020 Annual Conference will be held at the Berri Hotel in the Riverland, on Thursday 11th June to Friday 12th June 2020.

We have a number of excellent speakers talking about current and interesting topics. We also have a number of excellent sponsors ready to inform you about their latest products and services.

For those members that want to book their accommodation early and get the discounted delegate rate, check out the Nov-Dec or Jan-Feb editions of the Buzz for details.

  Single Day Two Days

Early Bird Rates

If paid by 30 April 2020

Member: $70.00 $110.00
Partner/Employee of Member: $60.00 $100.00
Non-Member: $90.00 $160.00

Standard Rates

Payment after 30 April 2020

Member: $100.00 $140.00
Partner/Employee of Member: $90.00 $130.00
Non-Member: $120.00 $190.00

Registrations and payments will not be accepted on the day. All registrations and payments must be finalised by the closing date.


Event Details

Event Date 11-06-2020 9:00 am
Event End Date 12-06-2020 4:00 pm
Registration Start Date 02-03-2020
Capacity 100
Available places 100
Cut off date 29-05-2020 11:55 pm
Individual Price From $70.00 for an SAAA member for a single day
Location Berri Hotel

Venue Information - Berri Hotel


Jessica Moran

PhD Candidate, CRC for Honey Bee Products

e-nose - developing electronic sensors for AFB volitiles

Murali Nayudu

Associate Professor (adj), Faculty of Science & Technology

Probiotics for bees

Jamie Ayton

Chemist - Edible Oils

Honey Chemistry and Adulteration

Tom Damin

Research and Technical Services Manager

Development of inter row companion species blends for pollinating insects

Liz Barbour

CEO Cooperative Research Centres for Honey Bee Products

Making honey products ready for export

Ian Zadow

Commercial Beekeeper

Designing and building a honey processing plant

Sarah Paradice


Update on AHBIC activities

Teagan Alexander

PIRSA Bee Biosecuroty Officer

Update on Biosecurity

Michael Stedman

PIRSA - Project Officer Apiaries

Update on PIRSA bee related projects and activities

Danny Le Feuvre

Chair, Apiaries Alliance South Australia

Update on access to public lands and other activities

Josh Kennett

President, South Australian Apiarists' Association

AGM and Opening of Conference

Hon Tim Whetstone

Member for Chaffey and Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development

Official Opening

Dr Doug Somerville

Technical Specialist, Bees with the NSW Department of Primary Industries

Honey and Pollen Flora of South-Eastern Australia

Chris Bastian

Regional Prevention Officer, Country Fire Service

Fire Safety, Required Equipment, and handling a small fire

Clarisa Castaños

PhD Candidate, CRC for Honey Bee Products

Honey Bee Nutrition - Early detection of malnutrition and colony collapse


Location Map